The Love of Christ is the Rock

There is an old hymn that first appeared in 1834 written by Edward Mote. It is titled On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand.  The chorus of the hymn is “On Christ the solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand; all other ground is sinking sand.” As I sat in my office reading the lyrics to this hymn that has impacted so many people, I felt the Lord working in my heart.  Recently, there have been opportunities in my life for victory through Christ; yet I had failed.  I find myself in this state over and over again, crawling back to the cross.  I feel that I have, on many levels, let God down repeatedly again and again.  I come back to God every time expecting the door to be slammed in my face.  I am expecting God to be done with me, to have reached the limit of His grace.  However, every time I come back He is waiting there for me, not with the condemnation I expect, but with love, acceptance and forgiveness!

There is a passage in the book of Romans that says: No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:37-39 (NIV) I cannot help but read that passage and be filled with overwhelming reassurance that Christ’s love never fails me.  As I sat in my office I could not help but weep as the Lord brought this scripture into my mind.  I thought I might have misunderstood or mis-memorized it so I pulled out my Bible and read it.  Then I read both Romans and the hymn (On Christ the Solid Rock I Stand), three times I read them.  As I read both I had one question on my mind: “Really, nothing?” and the Lord would answer my question: “Really, Nothing!” You see, there are all kinds of things the enemy uses to entrap us.  The enemy will try and get us separated from Jesus our good shepherd.  If he can separate us then he will try and make us believe he has devoured us.  He will tell us: “You are defeated, rejected and unable to get back to God so why even try?”  He tempts us by putting all kinds of things out there for us to lay ahold of.  The enemy will use one of his most powerful tools on us once we have sinned: he will lie to us!  He will tell us that we are disqualified, not good enough and we will never be accepted again.  The enemy may struggle, fight, and wrestle with God, but he can never get us separated from Christ completely. When we come to this realization, the truth that nothing can separate us from God’s love for us, we become more than conquerors through Him who loved us!

As worship leaders our relationship with God and our understanding of the love of Christ directly effects our worship services.  When we are rooted and grounded on the Rock of our salvation, when we realize the Rock is Christ and His love, the love we can never be separated from we will lead people in worship with victory in our hearts and passion in our mouth.  When we know Christ loves us we will hang on His every word, the words of the scripture.  When we are worshiping the words of Jesus will come out from our hearts  and sweep over His church.  We will lead His church in true spirit filled worship, when we worship in spirit and truth.

 

Leave a Reply

